Tags

Quoted from The Hundred-Year Lie:

While on a journalistic assignment in South Dakota, I slipped and fell during a snowstorm. When I hit the street curb, I took the full force of impact on the right side of my lower back. The next day, my injury and pain were exacerbated by a cramped three-hour flight home to California. The throbbing sensation in my lower back became so severe that my body began slipping into shock.

Friends rushed me to the emergency room of a hospital, where I was hooked up to an intravenous morphine drip. The morphine barely dulled my sensation of pain. X-rays for broken bones were negative, and an attending physician speculated that the fall had bruised one of my kidneys. He wrote me a prescription for a strong narcotic painkiller and sent me home with the confession, “There is nothing else that can be done for you.” The emergency room visit cost seven hundred dollars, which came out of my own pocket since my insurance policy had a thousand-dollar deductible.

Though I debated whether to fill the prescription because of my concern about the narcotic’s potential for disorientation and addiction, the discomfort was so constant and intense, magnified by my every movement, that I could not imagine I had any other choice.

As I walked in agonizing pain to a neighborhood pharmacy, I happened to pass by a chiropractic clinic. Though I had no reason to believe that a chiropractor could provide relief, my intuition urged me to at least inquire. A middle-aged chiropractor tended to me immediately and applied a heat compress to my lower back, followed by an ultrasound treatment. She then spent ten minutes doing deep tissue massage on the affected area. She explained how these manipulations combined with heat and sound—a synergistic effect—would help to restore the internal alignment of my kidney.

Her technique worked like magic. I got off the table and my pain was instantly and completely gone, and it never returned. The session only cost fifty-five dollars, and the experience sold me on the idea that the synergistic effect of natural treatments and remedies can be effective and economical.

Randall Fitzgerald, The Hundred-Year Lie, pg. 9-10

